A Most Inconvenient Love by Ruth Logan Herne (Blog Tour)

A Most Inconvenient Love - Front Cover.jpgRuth Logan Herne’s novella collection, The Sewing Sisters’ Society, introduced the grumpy bachelor Levi Eichas and his three sisters, and showed them starting to break free from the drudgery and restrictions that they had continued to live with after their father’s death.  Levi found love and his sister’s unique talents began to gain appreciation.

In A Most Inconvenient Love, Rachel Eichas has taken a job as the school teacher in Second Chance, South Dakota, and is fully enjoying her newfound independence as well as a new wardrobe that does not include the word “serviceable” Continue reading

Advertisements

The Sewing Sisters Society by Ruth Logan Hearne (blog tour)

Sewing Sisters Cover 2 (4).jpgThe Sewing Sisters’ Society is a collection of three novellas set in a small frontier town of Last Chance, South Dakota.  Hattie McGillicuddy of Hattie’s Shirt Shop, Fine Goods Made to Order, welcomes three new assistants in a row, no experience required.  Hattie appreciates the independence her shop gives her, and she’s determined to help other women find their new start, and new loves as well. Continue reading

In the Shadow of Croft Towers by Abigail Wilson (review)

intheshadowofcrofttowers_wilson_tnzFor fans of Regency and Gothic, there is a new author to watch, and her name is Abigail Wilson.

I often wonder what my life would have been like if I had never learned the truth.  I wouldn’t have set off as I did for Croft Towers.  I never would have met him.  (pg.1)

Wilson’s debut novel, In the Shadow of Croft Towers, is an absolute treat.  Rarely does a first person narrator Continue reading

General Meade: A Novel of the Civil War by Robert Kofman (review)

generalmeade_kofmanA hybrid of fictional narrative and original source materials, Robert Kofman’s General Meade: A Novel of the Civil War shines the spotlight on an important but obscure Civil War figure.

George Meade was, as a career Army officer, one of many who served in the Mexican-American before the Civil War and this shared history informs his opinions of other generals, and his understanding of the potential strategies of General  Robert E. Lee. Continue reading

The Unexpected Champion by Mary Connealy (book review & tour giveaway link)

Banner_TheUnexpectedChampion_BlogRev_JR

Welcome to the Blog Tour & Giveaway for The Unexpected Champion by Mary Connealy with JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOK

9781493417209Title: The Unexpected Champion
Series: High Sierra Sweethearts, Book 3
Author: Mary Connealy
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Release Date: March 5, 2019
Genre: Historical Romance / Western

They’re as Different as Could Be.
But They’ll Need to Trust Each Other to Survive
the Wilderness . . . and the Dangers Chasing Them.

City dweller John McCall never expected to be out in the High Sierras of 1868 on a wild-goose chase to find the Chiltons’ supposedly lost grandson. But now that he’s out here, things have gotten even more complicated, mostly due to wildcat Penny Scott. She’s not like any woman he’s ever met–comfortable in the woods, with a horse, and with a gun.

When Penny and John are taken against their will by a shadowy figure looking for evidence they don’t have, both realize they’ve stumbled into something dangerous. With their friends and family desperately searching for them, Penny and John must make a daring escape.

When they emerge back into the real world, they discover their kidnapper just won’t stop. This city man and country woman must bring a powerful, ruthless man to justice, all while fighting a very inconvenient attraction to each other.

PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Christian Book |


MY THOUGHTS

With a deceptively peaceful opening for a Mary Connealy book, the third in her High Sierra Sweethearts trilogy begins with Penny Scott wanting nothing to do with John McCall, the Pinkerton agent who came west to retrieve (Penny would say kidnap) her nephew.  And John, well, he’s still rather shocked by Penny’s manner and dress, or rather, pants.  But after being kidnapped together, and then going on the hunt for their kidnappers, their growing respect for each other slowly turns to attraction and to love.

More Western adventure than pure romance, though, and what a rip-roaring adventure this turned out to be!  With twists and turns, malevolent villains, and enough danger and excitement to go around for the whole family and their ranch hands, too. And as far as city man/country woman romances go, The Unexpected Championis top notch.  Due, in no small part, to the mutual respect and the partnership that springs up between them.

One of the things I’ve appreciated so much about this particular trilogy is that the Hero of each novel isn’t automatically the best choice for every bit of daring-do, and he knows it.  In this final entry in the trilogy, John is quick to recognize Penny’s skills and resourcefulness.  But often, it is one of the dedicated ranch hands, and I do hope to encounter them both in future Mary Connealy novels.

Skillfully plotted, quickly paced, and filled with the author’s signature mix of romance, cowboys, faith, and comedy, this is a fun and exciting finale to another highly enjoyable trilogy from Mary Connealy.  This is a must read for fans of Pinkerton agents and unconventional women in fiction, The High Sierra Sweethearts novels in particular, Connealy fans in general, or readers who are just curious to give her writing a try.  While reading them in order will doubtless add to the reader’s enjoyment, there are enough reminders along the way to inform or remind the reader of what went on before.

Highly recommended, but be prepared – you might not want to put it down.

This review refers to a finished copy I voluntarily received from the publisher for participation in a blog tour with Just Read Tours.  A positive review was not required and all opinions expressed are my own.


 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

MaryConnealy by Ginger Murray Photography
Photo courtesy of Ginger Murray Photography

Mary Connealy writes “romantic comedies with cowboys” and is celebrated for her fun, zany, action-packed style. She has more than half a million books in print. She is the author of the popular series Wild at Heart, Kincaid Brides, Trouble in Texas, Lassoed in Texas, Sophie’s Daughters, and many other books. Mary lives on a ranch in eastern Nebraska with her very own romantic cowboy hero.

CONNECT WITH MARY: website, facebook, twitter, instagram

You can also find Mary at these sites: Seekerville and Petticoats & Pistols


the unexpected champion giveaway

TOUR GIVEAWAY

(1) winner will win

  • a complete set of all three High Sierra Sweethearts books (print, US only)
  • $20 Barnes & Noble gift card

Enter via the Rafflecopter giveaway below. Giveaway will begin at midnight April 8, 2019 and last through 11:59 pm April 15, 2019. US only. Winners will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.

Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

cropped-justread-logo.png

First Line Friday: Up from the Sea

Welcome to First Line Friday,

hosted by Hoarding Books.

hoarding-books-button

Amanda Dykes’ novella Up from the Sea is caught me up in it’s fairytale feel and gorgeous language, as Savannah Mae Thorpe and the man her cousin describes as “our lumberjack,” Alastair Bliss, climb up from an island into the lush forests of a mountain in Maine searching for proof of a fable.

To save her land from being sold by her uncle/guardian, Savannah must find something of value on the mountain.  As she and Alastair, in 1925, search for a place of local legend her mother wove stories about, there are parallels between their tale and that of the King’s Trees in the time of the American Revolution.

As a prequel novella, Up from the Sea certainly does it’s job in drawing the reader into a world and planting anticipation of the coming novel.  But it is also a complete experience in itself, leaving the reader blissfully satisfied.

Here is the first line:

Continue reading