His Small-Town Girl by Lacy Williams (review + thoughts on Cowboy Ever After)

Looking to put the traumas of his past behind him and get back out of Sutter’s Hollow, Cord Coulter is not too pleased by the appearance of Molly English, even less so when he learns that someone put a help wanted poster up on his behalf. But no matter how hostile he is, Molly remains determined and positive, until the traumas of her recent past begin to be revealed.

But despite the threat that has Molly panicking and the past that has left Cord bitter, their presence in each other’s lives are a godsend. This grumpy/sunshine pairing makes for such a sweet romance as they essentially save each other.

A highly enjoyable Contemporary Romance, this is the first in Lacy Williams’ Sutter’s Hollow series of small town, chaste romances.

This review refers to a temporary digital galley I voluntarily read through NetGalley, courtesy of the author/publisher. A positive review was not required and these are only my own, honest opinions.

About His Small-Town Girl

His Small-Town Girl by Lacy Williams (Sutter’s Hollow #1) | Lacy Williams Books, LLC, May 2020 | ebook, 250 pages

She’s sweet and wholesome. And hiding something.

He’s back home, resurrecting old ghosts.

One of them is going to get hurt.

Molly arrives in Sutter’s Hollow out of gas and out of options. The rundown ranch seems like a perfect place to hide. Except the man who owns it seems just as dangerous as what’s chasing her.

Cord’s mantra growing up? Get out of Sutter’s Hollow. Now he’s back in town, but only long enough to get rid of his grandma’s ball and chain—the ranch. He doesn’t need a complication like Molly, who reminds him of an injured baby bird. He’s no protector. So why can’t he tell her to get lost?

Cowboy Ever After

She’s the girl he walked away from but never forgot.

He only needs her help, not her heart.

After the fireworks fade, he’ll walk away all over again…

As Cord, driven by circumstance and encouraged by Molly, reluctantly reaches out to his estranged younger brother West in His Small-Town Girl, I couldn’t help but hope that West’s story would be told. While not the focus of books 2 or 3 in Lacy Williams’ Sutter’s Hollow series (those would be Cord’s childhood neighbors and friends), Cowboy Ever After is his story.

Cowboy Ever After is a second chance romance set one year after His Small-Town Girl. It is terribly sweet and quick read that begins with false first impressions when West returns to Sutter’s Hollow while on leave, after leaving Cassie behind to join the Marines over 9 years ago.

This short story will definitely appeal to fans of Lacy Williams, Contemporary Romance, and Military Romance. It is available to VIP members of the author’s mailing list as a free prequel short story.