Monthly Recommendations: OTP

Only a few hours left in the month?  Must be time for me to finally get around to sharing my list of recommended reads.  This topic, though, has me feeling O.L.D.  I don’t “OTP” or “ship,” but here goes… nothing fancy, just a super quick list (yep, thinking these up as I type) of some of the characters I love as couples in books I would recommend:

bookofthree_alexander_squarefish_henryholtTaran & Eilonwy

I have pictured these two as a couple since I first read Lloyd Alexander’s Chronicles of Prydain series back in sixth grade – and that is over thirty a long time.  They have a bit of the Ron & Hermione thing going on, where she is quite a bit more clever and he is charmingly inept.

princessbrideButtercup & Westley

More the movie than the book, honestly, but they are one of my favorite couples and I adore The Princess Bride by William Goldman.  Nothing can stop true love.

lovebytheletter_jagears_bethanyhouseDex & Rachel

So, I was listening to my library’s online audio version (with excellent narration by Pilar Witherspoon) of Melissa Jagears’ A Bride For Keeps, and as much as I love Everett & Julia together, it reminded me of how wonderful it is not only to see Dex & Rachel’s romance begin in the novella Love by the Letter* but to experience them as a couple later in their relationship throughout the Unexpected Brides series.

  nootherwilldo_witemeyer_bethanyEmma & Mal

Thinking of how Dex & Rachel knew each other from childhood led me to think of another couple who met as children and were destined to find love.  From the moment Emma discovers a homeless young Malachi in her barn, she claimed him.  He left when his feelings grew too strong, but returned the moment she needed him.  This is where I decide to limit myself to one book per author, because Karen Witemeyer has written some great couples and I could definitely add some of her titles other than No Other Will Do.

enchantedapril_instagram_bookworlderyvetteEveryone plus A Certain Couple

Cryptic enough?  I don’t want to spoil a wonderful book (and there is an excellent movie version), but I love all of the various relationships as they evolve in the wonderful novel from 1922, The Enchanted April by Elizabeth von Arnim.  It is, as Lotte says, a “tub of love,” and for this list there was one pairing that stood out for me.  No names…

And finally, a sort-of love-triangle:

intothefree_cantrell_tnzMillie & ?

There are two love interests for young Millie Reynolds in Julie Cantrell’s Into the Free, one is a gypsy boy River and the other a cowboy called Bump.  Such a heartbreaking story that the reader longs for Millie to find some happiness, and I knew who I wanted her to find happiness with.   But again, spoilers… I’m hoping that March will be the month I continue Millie’s story in When Mountains Move.

I do love a good romance, or books that include potential for romance, so there are many more I could have listed.  What about you, what is one of your favorite couples in a book you would recommend?


*Love by the Letter by Melissa Jagears is available on Amazon as a free e-novella and can be purchased in print as part of With All My Heart Romance Collection: Five Novellas of Living Love to the Fullest.

Monthly Recommendations is a GoodReads group of bloggers and YouTube content creators started by Kayla of Kayla Raines and Trina from Between Chapters.  Check out the group for links to blogposts and videos with more recommendations and join in on the conversations.

This list is in no way affiliated or sponsored by the publisher, authors, or any other party. Books mentioned above include books received from publishers and previously reviewed, books I have purchased, and books (audio and print) borrowed from the library.  Individual statements regarding the source of each book are or will be made in the reviews.

Bookworlder.wordpress.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

 

One thought on “Monthly Recommendations: OTP

Leave a Reply

