Monthly Recommendations: Historical Fiction

The January 2017 topic for the Monthly Recommendations group is Historical Fiction.  If you’ve been following my blog and/or social media accounts, you will probably have noticed that this is one of my favorite genres.  So I recommend works of Historical Fiction quite often.

I was having too much trouble narrowing down my choices, so I am going to offer my recommendations up with a slight twist.  So, I am presenting to you my

TOP 5 RECOMMENDED NOVELLA COLLECTIONS FROM BARBOUR BOOKS 

(though I reserve the right to expand the number and to add and re-order at any time – I have a few [okay, seven] unread on my bookshelves and NetGalley ebooks of Seven Brides for Seven Texans and The Message in a Bottle Romance Collection on my kindle, both of which I plan to read and review soon) in a loose order, with links to my original reviews:

The Cowboy’s Bride Collection

9 Historical Romances Form on Old West Ranches

cowboysbridecollection_barbour

The Lassoed by Marriage Romance Collection

9 Historical Romances Begin After Saying “I Do”

lassoedbymarriage_various_barbour

The Convenient Bride Collection

9 Romances Grow from Marriage Partnerships Formed Out of Necessity

convenientbride_barbourbooks

The Courageous Brides Collection

Compassionate Heroism Attracts Mail Suitors to Nine Spirited Women

courageousbrides_barbour

The American Dream Romance Collection

Nine Historical Romances Grow Alongside a New Country

 

amdreamromancecollection_barbour

 

With few exceptions, these are novellas set in the American West, with The American Dream taking the reader farther back to Colonial America.  These novella collections by Barbour are lovely in physical form, with french flaps and deckled edges.

Have you read any Barbour novella collections?  Which were your favorites?


Monthly Recommendations is a GoodReads group of bloggers and YouTube content creators started by Kayla of Kayla Raines and Trina from Between Chapters.  Check out the group for links to blogposts and videos with more recommendations and join in on the conversations.

This list is in no way affiliated or sponsored by the publisher, authors, or any other party. Books mentioned above include review ebook titles that were received without charge from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.  It may also contain ebooks read through my library’s Overdrive service.  All physical copies were purchased with my own money.  Individual statements regarding the source of each book are or will be made in the reviews.

2 thoughts on “Monthly Recommendations: Historical Fiction

Leave a Reply

