Monthly Recommendations: Monster Mash

A year has gone by since my Creepy Reads recommendations post and I have a few new books and series to add with the Monster Mash theme for October.

I’m guessing that, if you have been following my blog for a while, you won’t be surprised that I’m posting this last minute and that there is a decided lack of books, with one exception, that would be directly classified as Horror.  I limited myself to one book or series for each category (Picture Book, Intermediate/MG, YA, Adult), or else there would be two Adult books in the Horror genre: Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger and My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix (I just posted a review of his previous book that I enjoyed even more, Horrorstör).

So, here is October’s Monthly Recommendations for Monster Mash books.  As a bonus, most of these books can serve as inspiration for great Halloween costumes or year-round cos-play:

Picture Book/Graphic Novel:

powerofcuteThe Power of Cute by Charise Mericle Harper is an adorable 28 page picture book with lift-up flaps, pop-ups, and other interactive features.  A baby uses her superpower to tame a monster who is baffled by her lack of fear.  The interactive features didn’t last long with my great-niece and great-nephew (who were both under 3 at the time), a sign that the book was a big hit with them!

Intermediate/Middle Grade:

howtoprotectyourneighborhoodfromcircuswerewolves-sm_origHow to Protect Your Neighborhood From Circus Werewolves by Mick Bogerman – for the second year in a row I am recommending a book from the Slug Pie Stories series for 8-12 year olds in the Horror genre. Circus.  Werewolf.  Clowns.  Need I say more?  If you are not yet convinced, I recently reviewed it here.

Young Adult:

etiquetteandespionage_carrigerGail Carriger’s Finishing School series consists of Etiquette & Espionage, Curtsies & Conspiracies, Waistcoats & Weaponry, and Manners & Mutiny.  As I described in my Books Set in School recommendations, this is a fantastic Steampunk series set primarily in a floating school where young ladies learn the arts of espionage and assassination. The instructors include a vampire and a werewolf.

Adult:

retributionfalls_woodingChris Wooding’s Tales of the Ketty Jay series is one I’ve recommended before, and I am shamelessly working it into this month’s list. This is another series of four books, it consists of: Retribution Falls, The Black Lung Captain, The Iron Jackal, and The Ace of Skulls.  Slightly steampunk-esque and a bit reminiscent of the tv show Firefly, this is a fun sci-fi romp with a motley crew of almost-pirates.  What makes it eligible for the Monster Mash theme is the character of a golem.

I haven’t quite finished the Finishing School and Tales of the Ketty Jay series, but I hope to soon and I’m confident that I will still feel they are worth recommending.

Now it’s your turn: 

What non-horror books would you recommend where monsters pop up as characters?  

If you could cos-play or dress up for Halloween as one book character, what would it be?


Monthly Recommendations is a GoodReads group of bloggers and YouTube content creators started by Kayla of Kayla Raines and Trina from Between Chapters.  Check out the group for links to blogposts and videos with more recommendations and join in on the conversations.

Leave a Reply

