Tuesday Talk, 5/3/16: Favorite Antagonists in Fiction

tuesday_talks_logoThis week’s topic is “Your Favorite Antagonists in Fiction” and I have to admit this has me a bit thrown.  Antagonists are not generally the most likable characters, and I can’t think of a favorite.  Sure, I find Thursday Next’s nemesis Acheron Hades and his siblings very interesting, and I hope Jasper Fforde continues to reveal more about them.   I’d also like Gail Carriger to explain a bit more about the Pickle Men.  I could almost say that Gage Coulter from Mary Connealy’s Wild at Heart series is a favorite, but that would be cheating since I just found him a bit annoying and unsympathetic until he was properly turned around into being a protagonist by the third book.  Is Trinica from Chris Wooding’s Tales of the Ketty Jay a proper antagonist?  I’ve only read the first two books, but I do like her.

I’ve looked through my physical and virtual bookshelves, I’ve tried to think of antagonists in Shakespeare and in fairy tales.  I did remember liking a “mean girl” character in a novella, then recalled that I just found her annoying when she was being mean and didn’t find her interesting until she was mending her ways as the heroine of a second novella.  I’m just a bit stumped.  If you were to ask me about favorite secondary characters, however, I believe I could name quite a few.  Like character actors and their roles, these are sometimes my favorite characters in fiction as well. Oh, wait, maybe Nellie Oleson in Little House on the Prairie?  I disliked her, Willy, and their mother when I read the entire series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I couldn’t stand her when I watched the television show, either, but I think if I reread/rewatched as an adult that Nellie might just be my most favorite of all (especially in the tv series).

Now that I’ve had my say, what do you think?  What are some of your favorite antagonists, or are you as stumped by this as I am?

Tuesday Talks is a GoodReads group with weekly discussion topics.  This may be my final Tuesday talk.

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Talk, 5/3/16: Favorite Antagonists in Fiction

  1. I am a fan of Moriarty. You know, brilliant crime overlord, Sherlock Holmes archenemy… I think he’s cool. And another fascinating one, presuming that you see him as an antagonist, would be Neuromancer, the second AI from Gibsons book “Neuromancer”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Moriarty! I have to admit I haven’t actually read anything by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, but what a great choice! I should probably add some Sherlock Holmes to my TBR, especially as two of my nephews-in-law are huge fans. I’ll just nod in agreement, as if it hasn’t been too many years since I’ve read any Gibson, on Neuromancer 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. One antagonist that I recently liked (disliked?) was Mr. Macy from Jessica Dotta’s Price of Privilege trilogy. He was such a hypnotic character. I knew he was bad news, but still kind of had to admire his style, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

