Review: Beautiful Uncertainty by Mandy Hale

beautifuluncertainty_blbloggers

Book Description:  Bestselling author Mandy Hale, the Single Woman, will help readers learn how to walk with God through the beautiful uncertainty of life with the wonderful certainty of His presence.

Over the years, I’ve read a few books aimed at single women and living the single christian life.  Generally, I’ve found them to be well intentioned, not that helpful, and not quite aimed at me.  Perhaps I read them all a bit too late, as they seemed to be about stages of life I had already passed through as well as being based on a different set of life experiences and circumstances.

 

With a back cover description that starts out with an all caps statement of “If life doesn’t look like you thought it might…” I was hopeful that this book would be different.  It was.

The more He added to my life, the less I needed anything other than Him.  It was the most perfect example of the upside-down way Jesus does things in His kingdom. (pg.9)

Writing in a personable style, like a conversation with a friend, the author shares examples of her experience and dispenses advice rather than instruction.  Beautiful Uncertainty is not a how-to and does not give step by step instructions, but encouragement and help towards figuring out those next steps. The exercises are doable, with a bit of introspection, and a decent amount of space is given at a few points for completion of an exercise within the lined pages of the book.  Prayers included are heartfelt and have a natural feel.

Prayer:  God, I know that a blessing too soon is not a blessing; it’s a burden… (pg.170)

The book itself is divided into seasons, and those seasons broken up into a total of 31 segments with titles like ‘Coffee with Jesus’ and ‘If an Ex Pokes You on Facebook and You Don’t Respond, Did Anything Really Happen.’ As I read, I made small notes like ‘waiting/weariness/contentedness,’ ‘do exercise on p.52,’ and ‘look into app – She Reads Truth.’

I used to want flashy love – shiny love.  Now I know that’s the stuff of glitter, not gold.  Give me steadfast and wholehearted instead. (p.116)

I found much of this book to be interesting, encouraging, sometimes funny, and quite quotable.  While it started with the ‘date with Jesus’ idea, and bogged down a bit for me when talking about her prior books (not a reading prerequisite) and speaking engagements, it was the fourth season, Fall, that really turned this book into a keeper with sections like ‘A Lesson in Gratitude,’ ‘What (Most) Women Really Want’ and the final section, ‘God’s Heart for Single Women.’

He knows what the single path looks like because he walked it. (pg.190)

If you are a single woman past early adulthood and looking for some insight and encouragement, I would suggest giving this book a try, even if only for those last sections.  If you know a single woman who might find a book like this helpful (and won’t react as I might to such a gift, by worrying that you are very quietly saying “You need some help, girl!”), it is nicely gift-able, even including  a page in the front with lines prompting a gift inscription.

But, come to think of it, much of this book could be applied to people other than single women.  Everyone needs a friendly conversation and encouragement, and I’m sure many people from many walks of life could find that in this book.  Personally, I’ll be keeping this copy to go back through and try out a few of the exercises and to reread some of the Fall season’s sections from time to time when I’m in need of the encouragement.


 

Beautiful Uncertainty by Mandy Hale | Thomas Nelson, February 2, 2016 | ISBN 978-0-7180-7608-5 | hardcover, 197 pgs

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, through their BookLookBloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in
Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

