Tuesday Talk 1/26/16: 2016 Anticipated Reads

I haven’t done a Tuesday Talk in a while, but I’ve been thinking about making a post of this type as there are so many books I want to read in 2016.  What follows is a list narrowed down to what I currently consider my most highly anticipated reads being newly published in 2016.

I do want to spend more of my reading time Science Fiction/Fantasy and the Steampunk sub-genre this year.  My most anticipated 2016 SFF/Steampunk releases are (in order of publication):

Lazarus_vol04_rucka_imagecomics_janLazarus, Volume 4: Poison written by Greg Rucka with art by Michael Lark is due out tomorrow, January 27th, from Image Comics.  This gritty dystopian story is one of only two graphic series that I am eager for each edition as it comes out, the other being Serenity (review of Serenity #4 here) from Dark Horse.  Of Volume 1, on GoodReads, I said “An intriguing start to a dystopian series that left me wanting to read more.” For Volume 2, I went a bit more in depth on GoodReads (review), and I recently reviewed volume 3 on this blog here.

 

TheCustodianOfMarvels_angryrobotbks_february

The Custodian of Marvels by Rod Duncan [Angry Robot Books, February 2016] is the third and final book in The Fall of the Gas-Lit Empire series.  Steampunk set in an alternative history 1970’s London, with Elizabeth Barnabus taking on a new case.  More circus, more Patent Office, hopefully more of everything I loved about the first two books, The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter (review) and Unseemly Science (review).

starsabove_meyers_feiwelandfriends_febNot quite as highly anticipated for February is the new collection from Marissa Meyers, Stars Above [Feiwel & Friends], which gathers previously published and new short stories related to her YA Lunar Chronicles series.  I have really enjoyed her sci-fi fairy tale retellings and I am looking forward to the new stories, and to the author’s appearance at Powell’s Bookstore here in Oregon.

 

imprudence_carriger_orbit_july.jpg

July will bring the second in Gail Carriger’s new adult Steampunk Custard Protocol series, Imprudence [Feiwel & Friends].  A follow-up to Prudence (review), it promises to be great fun as the crew of the Spotted Custard return from India only to be sent off on a mission to Egypt.  Fingers crossed that Gail will visit Powell’s as she did for Prudence.

Moving on to Historical Fiction, one stand-alone, and one first-in-series are my most highly anticipated books in the genre:

June is a long time to wait for a new Karen Witemeyer book, but I’m certain No Other Will Do [Bethany House] will be worth the wait.  A stand-alone, as far as I am aware, it has the intriguing setting of a women’s colony in 19th century Texas.  Meanwhile, I’ll be getting a small Karen Witemeyer fix with her novella in Bethany House’s December 2015 release With This Ring?.

Also in With This Ring? is a novella by Melissa Jagears, which I believe is related to the first in her new Teaville Moral Society series. A very good thing as Bethany House is making me wait until AUGUST for A Heart Most Certain.  No surprise that this is one of my most highly anticipated but dreaded (what if I don’t like it?) reads of 2016 if you have read my review of her debut Unexpected Brides series.

I could go on, but then this post might have to be retitled.  So I’ll save Mary Connealy’s No Way Up [Bethany House, July 2016] and Beth White’s The Magnolia Duchess [Revell, May 2016] along with any other new-in-2016 anticipated reads for future Wednesday Wish Lists.  And it almost goes without saying, but if anything by Jasper Fforde is published this year, it will quickly be put at the top of any and all to-read lists.

As is always the case in the publishing industry, release dates are subject to change (uhm, Bethany House?  August is a long way away, just saying…).  In the interest of full disclosure, I will be reading a review e-book of  Custodian of Marvels courtesy of the publisher through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review, and have pre-ordered a print copy through Amazon.  I have also received a paperback review copy of With This Ring? through the Revell Reads blogger program, in exchange for an honest review.

Tuesday Talks is a GoodReads group of bloggers, vloggers and others with a new book related topic each Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

