Review: Stonebridge Conspiracy by David Moore

stonebridgeconspiracy_moore_selfpubIn honor of America’s Veterans Day, I am reposting reviews of Unmentionables by Laurie Loewenstein (read the review here) and Stonebridge Conspiracy by David Moore that were written before I began blogging.  Each book features a main character who served during World War I and both are books I would highly recommend.  After each review I will include links to my reviews of other historical fiction books with characters who are veterans of America’s Revolution and Civil War.

Following is my review of Stonebridge Conspiracy, with one small edit, originally posted on GoodReads and BookLikes in October of 2014:

David Moore’s Stonebridge Conspiracy is by far one of the best historical fiction books I have read this year.  From the beginning of the prologue Moore establishes a sense of place and time with small details and a very direct, almost spare, writing style.  The story takes us from the small town of Stonebridge, New York, to the horrors of the battlefields of World War I France and back, complete with a detour through an opium den in New York’s Chinatown.  This journey is filled with adventure, danger, ambition and conspiracy.  And within that journey is also a story of faith, loyalty, love and possibilities.

In the first chapters of the book, I felt a bit wary of the writing and the storyline.  My first concern was unfounded, as what I mistook as a negative depiction of females was the author successfully portraying two women’s shallow and egotistical characters.  My second concern, and what had me putting the book down several times, was a sense of impending harm to the main character, Jake McCleary.  Jake was an instantly likeable character, and I just didn’t want anything to happen to him.

Stonebridge Conspiracy is one of those books that I find difficult to review without telling the whole of the plot.  As the first self-published book that I have read, as far as I am aware, it was a wonderful surprise to find a fully formed story with no need of an editor or proofreader’s hand.

Though I did set this book down several times (the descriptive depiction of the horrors of the front lines had me setting it aside for a short time),  I kept coming back to it, and I am glad I did.  This is definitely going onto my re-read shelf, alongside Laurie Loewenstein’s Unmentionables, another fantastic World War I era historical fiction novel and the one that peaked my interest in reading about the era.

I received a free copy of this book courtesy of the author, through the GoodReads First Reads program.  All opinions are my own, including the opinion that my review does [not do] the book justice.

Stonebridge Conspiracy by David Moore (www.davidmooreauthor.com) | self-published through CreateSpace, copyright 2013 | ISBN 978-149046422 | paperback 333 pgs | review copy

Other historical (primarily Christian romance) fiction novel reviews with characters, both male and female, that are veterans of America’s wars:

American Revolution:

Laura Frantz’s The Mistress of Tall Acre

Civil War:

Mary Connealy’s Wild at Heart series – Tried and TrueNow and ForeverFire & Ice

Regina Jennings’ A Most Inconvenient Marriage

Jody Hedlund’s Hearts Made Whole

Margaret Brownley’s Undercover Bride

World War II:

Laura Marx Fitzgerald’s middle grade novel Under the Egg

4 thoughts on “Review: Stonebridge Conspiracy by David Moore

Leave a Reply

