Wish List Wednesday 9/23/15: Sci-Fi, short stories and OOP, and Mice!

Wish List Wednesday 9/23/15: Sci-Fi shorts, OOP and Mice!

After posting last week’s wish list, I over-spent pre-spent my November book budget by pre-ordering the two last-in-series YA books.  This week I have a short list of books that, hopefully, I’ll be more successful in not immediately purchasing:

First up, Hannu Rajaniemi: Collected Fiction [Tachyon Publications, 2015] is a 240 page book of short stories by the author of the Jean le Flambeur trilogy. I’ve requested this from the library, but I would really like it to just be sitting on my shelf along with the trilogy, of which I’ve only read the first (which I briefly discussed here). I will eventually read the second and third books, but for now they sit and stare intimidatingly out from my bookshelves.

My D.E. Stevenson collection is growing at a very slow pace.  I would love to add a copy of her one Science destevenson_fourgraces_sourcebooksFiction title, The Empty World. Written in 1936, it is a “Romance of the Future” set in 1973. That alone makes me want to have a copy of this book. Unfortunately, it is long out of print and the prices online are prohibitive. I may just have to console myself with the gorgeous reprint from Sourcebooks of The Four Graces and read about the four Grace sisters living happily with their father in an idealic setting… until a meddlesome aunt arrives.

mouseheart3_bnemailI received an email this morning from Barnes & Noble that Return of the Forgotten, the third in Lisa Fiedler’s Mouseheart series, is available for pre-order. While I haven’t read the first two, my 12 year old niece has and I’m pretty sure she would love to read more. She would likely recommend this as a great series for 10-12 year olds who love animal adventure stories. If she hasn’t purchased this on her own by then, it is likely to be a Christmas gift. Yes, that’s right, I’m already starting to plan for Christmas.

I’m still excited about the 2016 release of the third book in the Fall of the Gas-Lit Empire series and they’ve revealed the cover, again by Will Staehle, over on tor.com along with an excerpt from The Custodian of Marvels.  Like the first two, I expect that the elements and overall appearance of the cover will take on even more meaning when viewed after reading the book. Comments by the author, Rod Duncan, seem to bear this out.  I am hesitant to pre-order it this early, though I understand that pre-sales can be important to the publisher and author.  I am also hesitant when it comes to reading the excerpt, as it might make it even harder to wait.

So, what do you think? Did any of these peak your interest?

2 thoughts on “Wish List Wednesday 9/23/15: Sci-Fi, short stories and OOP, and Mice!

    1. Jaw-dropping is such a good description for it! I’ve read reviews that say the writing is a bit stiff and her imagined 1973 isn’t very different from the 1930’s, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting it (if anything, that means I will read it with a certain glee).

      Like

Leave a Reply

