Wish List Wednesday 9/16/15: 2 YA series ending, 1 Novella Collection and an old favorite

It’s Wednesday again and my booklust is still in full swing. There are so many books I could list as “want to read,” like Amy Stewart’s Girl Waits with Gun, but the following are books I am fighting the urge to pre-order or purchase NOW.

I do enjoy a good YA read in between adult books, and I especially enjoy Gail Carriger’s Finishing School series. Set in the same world but 25 years prior to her adult Parasol Protectorate series, this focuses on Sophronia, a young girl sent off to a floating (Steampunk airships!) finishing school that just happens to teach the feminine arts of espionage and assassination. Manners & Mutiny [Little, Brown Books for Young Readers] is the fourth book, or “book the last” per the author’s website, and is scheduled to be published on November 3, 2015.

Winter is the fourth and final book in Marissa Meyer’s series The Lunar Chronicles. Another YA series that I simply adore, these are fairy tale retellings set in the future. Cinderella (Cinder) is a cyborg, Little Red Riding Hood (Scarlet) teams up with her Wolf, and Rapunzel (Cress) is a computer hacker/fan girl and my favorite so far. Each book builds on the previous story, incorporating new characters and building towards Snow White Winter’s story. I’ve been waiting to read the novella that gives the background of Levana, the Lunar queen and Winter’s evil stepmother, but I’d better get on it soon as Winter [Fiewel & Friends] is scheduled for November 10, 2015.

How can I resist a novella collection when the authors are Karen Witemeyer, Mary Connealy, Regina Jennings and Melissa Jagears?   With This Ring? A Novella Collection of Proposals Gone Awry [Bethany House] is slated for release on January 5, 2016, and I am eagerly looking forward to it. It promises to be great fun.

The Blue Castle is one of my favorite L.M. Montgomery books. I first read it when I was a teenager and purchased it to reread as an ebook about a year ago but I continue to want a physical copy on my shelf. I continually put off buying a hard copy and may do a dedicated post to the issues I have with the various covers sometime soon.

Meanwhile, I’m continuing to work on reading and reviewing the rest of the NetGalley ebooks I’ve been approved for and I’m waiting to hear back on one request. I’m trying to resist requesting any more, but Barbour Publishing has some new collections that I am very tempted by.

One thought on “Wish List Wednesday 9/16/15: 2 YA series ending, 1 Novella Collection and an old favorite

Leave a Reply

