Wish List Wednesday: Continuing Steampunk & Historical Fiction Series

In order to be alliterative, I am going to try to constrain myself to sharing the excitement of discovering a new “I need to buy this” book to Wednesdays.  No promises, though…

First up today is the third book in Rod Duncan’s Fall of the Gas-Lit Empire series, The Custodian of Marvels.  The only information available so far are the publication dates for North America (2/2/16) and the UK (2/4/16), as well as a short synopsis on the publisher’s website.  No cover has been revealed yet, but I am very interested to see what design Angry Robot Books comes up with.  If you’ve read my reviews of The Bullet Catcher’s Daughter and Unseemly Science then you will know how much I liked the previous covers (both by Seattle based artist Will Staehle) as well as the novels.  When the new cover is revealed, I’ll likely feel compelled to share it here on my blog as well.

February seems a long way off, but I’ve just discovered a related website, complete with a map, that I’ll have to find some time to explore before then: http://www.gaslitempire.co.uk/

fireandice_connealy_bakerpublishing_9781441269553Another third book in a series, Mary Connealy’s final Wild at Heart book Fire & Ice will be released this month in paperback and October 2015 in e-book form.  Mary Connealy writes christian romantic comedies with cowboys, and this series features the three very different Wilde sisters who served in the American Civil War dressed as men.  In my reviews of the first two books, Tried & True and Now & Forever, I mentioned how much I was looking forward to Bailey and Gage’s story.  I’ve requested a review copy through NetGalley and hope to be approved, but I would like to have the entire trilogy (so far I just have the 1st book in paperback) sitting on my shelf so they can be reread whenever the mood strikes.

The second book in Jeannie Lin’s historical romance/Steampunk Gunpowder
Alchemy series, Clockwork Samurai, will also be released in
e-book form on December 1, 2015.  This is a case of a book growing on me after I’ve read and reviewed it.  While my review for the first book said that I wasn’t excited for a second, I find that I am curious as to how the relationship between Soling and Chang-wei changes, and to see further character development for Soling.  I have to admit that I’m also hoping we see more of Yang Hanzhu.

I’ve already purchased Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller, the first book that compelled me to make a wish list posting, and I’m currently reading a NetGalley copy of the secondThe Memory Weaver by Jane Kirkpatrick.  It had a strong beginning, and if I continue to enjoy the story and the writing, I’ll be purchasing a copy later this month during the author’s appearance at Powell’s Books.

If you’ve read any of these series or authors, what did you think?  What upcoming releases are you looking forward to?

3 thoughts on “Wish List Wednesday: Continuing Steampunk & Historical Fiction Series

  1. I’m finishing up Mary Connealy’s series too and getting ready to start on The Memory Weaver – hopefully both of those will happen in September. So many books to read lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

