Book Review: 12 Brides of Summer Novella Collection #3

photo source: www.barbourbooks.com
photo source: http://www.barbourbooks.com

Dog Days of Summer by Margaret Brownley

The Dogwood Blossom Bride by Miralee Ferrell

The Lumberjack’s Bride by Pam Hillman

First natural disaster and adversity, second adversity and family, and now in the third set of four historical Christian romance e-book collections, the catalyst for romance and the opportunity to turn more fully to faith in God seems to be adversity and social divides.

Miralee Davis is a lady who teaches music and unwittingly shares a dog with Tom Colbert, a blacksmith who turns out to be very hard on her delicate furniture but just what she needs for her heart. Will Montgomery is raising his niece to be a careful young lady and wants to keep her far from the dangerous influence of well-meaning Gracie Addison, a woman busy trying not to leave her tomboy-hood behind. Lucy Denson was poised to join the Chicago elite but now finds herself working as an unskilled cook and surprisingly attracted to Eli Everett, a skilled logger who is perhaps too far removed from the dandified suitor she left behind.

Another set of quick (short stories, in my opinion, not novellas) summer reads, though slightly less enjoyable than the first two sets of stories. Though I am surprised each time this happens, my favorite was not by the author whose name attracted me (Margaret Brownley) but one that I don’t recall reading before (Pam Hillman). I suspect this is partly due to her heroine, Lucy, being a skilled crocheter. I very much enjoyed how she found inspiration in nature and interpreted it with her hook. The one story that did not work for me was Miralee Farrell’s. It first lost my interest with folksy word choices that just didn’t work for me as a reader, and the story did not recapture me at any point. This may just be a case of the wrong reader for the story, but it was the one disappointment for me in these collections so far.

3/5 stars. Though not quite as strong an enjoyment factor as the first two Collections, still very much worth the cost of the ebook. I read this ebook courtesy of the publisher, through NetGalley, for free in exchange for an honest review.

I have requested the fourth and final 12 Brides of Summer through NetGalley as well. I’ve read short fiction (in another Barbour Publishing collection) by at least one of the authors before and hope to find another well-curated set of uplifting historical happy-ending romances.

As soon as I finish it and the three NetGalley titles I currently have in line to be read (including a nine-story collection from Barbour), I need to impose a NetGalley ban on myself and actually read more from my shelves and my library. Unfortunately, it is a bit like chocolate – I have no impulse control.

If you read or have read this collection, what did you think?  Let me know in the comments!

The 12 Brides of Summer: Collection #3 | Shiloh Run Studios, an imprint of Barbour Publishing Inc., August 1, 2015 | review copy

One thought on “Book Review: 12 Brides of Summer Novella Collection #3

Leave a Reply

