Book Ramble: A Most Inconvenient Marriage by Regina Jennings

I’ve been unable to focus on my reading lately, as I’m waiting to hear when the purchase of my new (tiny condo) home will close.  So the three – no, four (yikes) – books I have been reading, and planned to finish by today, have been left sitting with their bookmarks unmoved for the past week.  Then A Most Inconvenient Marriage showed up in my library account (loving the new auto-checkout feature on ebooks) and I found myself starting it at about 10:30 last night and finishing it around 2am.

I need to read more Regina Jennings.  Based on this book, she may become a favorite.  It has the right combination of drama, humor, romance and well integrated faith that I look for in Inspirational Romance.  The main characters are conflicted at times, which added authenticity (while sometimes being slightly annoying), and I didn’t even mind the love triangle/quadrangle thing that was going on as it was not the sole source of conflict.

Abigail is a (Yankee) Civil War nurse who has been proposed to by quite a few patients.  As the story begins, she accepts a very practical proposal from a dying (Rebel) soldier which gives her a purpose and place to live.  After the war is over, she travels to her deceased husband’s horse farm to make it profitable while caring for his ailing sister.  Abigail wins over Jeremiah’s mother (though not his sister), his former fiance and others, establishing the beginning of a new life for herself as a widow.  But then Jeremiah returns, alive but wounded, and a completely different man who is determined to kick Abigail off his land and win his sweetheart back from the local doctor.

Most of this was included in the book’s blurb, and I wish I hadn’t known ahead of time that Jeremiah was not the man Abigail married.  I really enjoyed the way the real Jeremiah was introduced, but it would have been more effective had I not known.

Much of the book is in a serious tone, tensions being high between neighbors who supported different sides in the war along with bushwackers and other ne’er-do-wells roaming the Ozark hills.  The touches of humor at times were so surprising and fun that I had to stop myself from laughing out loud (it was the middle of the night, after all). Another part that I found particularly well done was a certain dream sequence, the effect of it on the scene that followed and the references back to it later in the story.

So, to sum up my un-edited little ramble, if you enjoy a well-written, clean romance then this is definitely one to add to your TBR list.  I highly recommend it, and hope to read more by this author soon.

Title:  A Most Inconvenient Marriage

Author: Regina Jennings

Publisher:  Bethany House, 2014, 352 pages

Source:  Library (Overdrive) e-book

2 thoughts on “Book Ramble: A Most Inconvenient Marriage by Regina Jennings

Leave a Reply

