Book Review: The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble

Title:      The Mermaid’s Sister

Author:  Carrie Anne Noble

Publisher:  Skyscape (Amazon Publishing), March 1, 2015, 236 pages

Copy Source:  I received a copy of this book for free from Amazon through the Kindle First program.  So, I really sort of paid for it as this program is part of my Amazon Prime membership.

Mermaids, fairies, foundlings, wyverns, mad villains, tinkers and traveling shows. This lovely book lies somewhere in the realm of folklore and fairy tale. Well written and well developed in plot and character, the ebook version was refreshingly free from errors (at least, none were spotted as I read late into the night…). While I didn’t find anything surprising, except how quickly I was caught up in a story that did not have much action in the first part of the book, this is a very enjoyable YA read. The blend of story, story within story, action and romance was very well balanced and Clara is a wonderful choice of narrator, allowing the reader to understand her worries and thoughts about what she might become.

This is definitely a book I would recommend.  It will likely be a reread for me at some point, especially if I acquire a print copy.  I’ve recently been finding this style of cover to be quite appealing.

3.75/5 stars

One thought on “Book Review: The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble

Leave a Reply

